Canada-France-Hawaii Telescope groundbreaking on Maunakea, July 2, 1974. L to R: Mr. Guy Vachon (SNC, Inc., Canada); Rev. Israel Kamoku; Dr. John T. Je eries (University of Hawai‘i and CFHT Board of Directors): Dr. Roger Cayrel (Chief Project O cer,
CFHT Corporation); Dr. Kenneth Wright (Dominion Astrophysical Observatory, Victoria, B.C.); and Mr. John Hoag (University of Hawai‘i Board of Regents)